Les environs de

la Nique

marmande-18767_w400
marmande-18767_w400

press to zoom
buzet-vineyard-18992_w300
buzet-vineyard-18992_w300

press to zoom
1
1

press to zoom
marmande-18767_w400
marmande-18767_w400

press to zoom
1/9

A Cocumont se trouve l'une des deux caves des Côtes du Marmandais où le vin est bon et pas cher. Mais pas besoin de souligner qu'il y a de très bons vins dans toute la région - nous sommes juste à la limite de la région bordelaise AC.

 

Marmande et Casteljaloux, (toutes deux à 15 minutes) sont les villes les plus proches. Marmande est chic, mais malgré cela, elle possède un grand marché aux fruits et légumes (elle se vante la «capitale mondiale de la tomate»!). Casteljaloux est devenue une ville touristique, concentrée autour de son grand lac (plages, baignade, planche à voile), golf, équitation, etc.

 

Marchés - Marmande le samedi, Casteljaloux le mardi, Grignols le mercredi. Mais celui que nous aimons le plus est Bazas le samedi, avec sa vieille cathédrale et sa belle place du marché.

 

Romestaing est le village le plus proche - avec rien de plus qu'un monument aux morts et une église romane, mais charmante; et l'église d'Esquerdes, est magnifiquement située à  une très agréable promenade de 30 minutes. Et le Canal du Midi n'est qu'à 10 minutes et permet une délectable randonnée.

round about

marmande-18767_w400
marmande-18767_w400

buzet-vineyard-18992_w300
buzet-vineyard-18992_w300

1
1

marmande-18767_w400
marmande-18767_w400

1/9

Cocumont has one of the two caves of the Cotes du Marmandais: the wine is pretty good, and it's cheap. But there is of course extremely good wine to be had here as all through the area (bear in mind that we are just on the edge of the Bordeaux AC region). And the food really is terrific round about.

 

Marmande and Casteljaloux, (both 15 minutes) are the nearest towns of any size. Both are prosperous market towns. Marmande is very smart and chic, but despite this has an extensive fruit and vegetable market (it describes itself as the 'world tomato capital'!). Casteljaloux has developed into a tourist town, focused around its very large lake (beaches, swimming, windsurfing), golf course, horse riding, etc.

Markets - Marmande on Saturday, Casteljaloux on ~Tuesday, Grignols Wednesday.  But the one we love best is Bazas on Saturday, with its old cathedral and beautiful market square.

 

Nearer home are Romestaing – with nothing much more than a war memorial and a Romanesque church, but charming; and Esquerdes church, which is about 30 minutes walk and beautifully located. And the Canal du Midi is just 10 minutes away and provides for a delightful hike.